Ind W vs SL W Asia cup 2022: India won the Women's Asia Cup title for the 7th time by defeating Sri Lank

Womens Asia Cup T20 2022 Final Ind W vs SL W Indian women's team defeated Sri Lanka in the final match.

Ind W vs SL W Asia cup 2022: India won the Women's Asia Cup title for the 7th time by defeating Sri Lank
India won the Women's Asia Cup title for the record 7th time by defeating Sri Lank, image source; ANI

Sri Lanka captain won the toss and decided to bat first. Playing first, Sri Lanka's team completely collapsed in front of the Indian bowling and could only manage 65 runs for 9 wickets in 20 overs and India got a target of 66 runs to win. India achieved the target for victory by losing 2 wickets and winning this match won the title of Asia Cup 2022. 

India won the title for the 7th time

Indian women's team won the Asia Cup title for the record 7th time. India had won the Asia Cup title in 2004, 2005-06, 2006, 2008, 2012 and 2016 before 2022. At the same time, in the year 2018 i.e. last season, the Indian team reached the final, but Bangladesh defeated it and won this title for the first time. That is, after winning the title for 6 consecutive times, India's streak was broken, but under the captaincy of Harmanpreet, India repeated the previous success. 

Women's Asia Cup winning team -

2004 - India

2005 - India

2006 - India

2008 - India

2012 - India

2016 - India

2018 - Bangladesh

2022 - India

India's innings, Smriti Mandhana's half-century

Indian opener batsman Shefali Verma lost her wicket for 5 runs and this was India's first wicket, while Jemima Rodriguez lost her wicket for 2 runs and she became bold. After this, on the basis of Smriti Mandhana's quick unbeaten half-century and captain Harmanpreet Kaur's unbeaten 11, India won the match at 71 for 2 in 8.3 overs. Smriti Mandhana scored an unbeaten 51 runs off 25 balls with the help of 3 sixes and 6 fours. 

Sri Lanka's poor batting, batsmen collapsed

Electing to bat after winning the toss, Sri Lanka did not have a good start and they lost their 4 wickets within 10 runs. Captain Athapaththu was dismissed as the first wicket. He was run out by Renuka Singh on a personal score of 6 runs. Harshita got out after scoring 1 run as the second wicket. When the team's score was 9 runs, he was caught by Renuka Singh at the hands of Richa Ghosh. 

The team got two more setbacks on the same score. First Anushka Sanjeevani was run out after scoring 2 runs and then Perera without opening any account was caught by Renuka Singh to Mandhana. Earlier, Renuka Singh Thakur gave another blow to Sri Lanka on the score of 16 runs. He bowled Kavisha Dilhari on a personal score of 1 run.

For the sixth wicket, Nilakshi de Silva was bowled by Rajeshwari Gaikwad on a personal score of 6 runs, while Malsha Shehani was dismissed as the 7th wicket. He was dismissed by Sneh Rana on his own ball. India's eighth success was given by Gaikwad and she dismissed Oshadi Ranasinghe for 13 runs while the 9th wicket was taken in the form of Sugandhika Kumari and she was out for 6 runs. Inoka Ranvira scored 18 runs while Achini Kulsuriya remained unbeaten on 6 runs. Renuka Singh took 3 wickets while Rajeshwari Gaikwad and Sneh Rana took two wickets each in the first innings for India. 

India's playing XI

Shefali Verma, Smriti Mandhana, Jemima Rodrigues, Harmanpreet Kaur (Captain), Deepti Sharma, Richa Ghosh (Wicket Keeper), Pooja Vastrakar, Sneh Rana, Renuka Singh, Rajeshwari Gaikwad.

Sri Lanka Playing XI

Chamari Athapaththu (Captain), Anoushka Sanjeevani (Wk), Harshita Madvi, Hasini Perera, Nilakshi De Silva, Kavisha Dilhari, Malsha Shehani, Oshadi Ranasinghe, Sugandhika Kumari, Inoka Ranvira, Achini Kulasuriya